I wish I was a kid again…

When I hear people say this, my thought immediately goes to early bed times while the fun adults stayed up, never getting to choose what’s for supper, constantly being in a class I hated, with homework for hours after, and never getting what I wanted.  What is so inspiring about a childhood lost? I may be in a lucky position that I work as a preschool teacher, where everyday I get to watch children learn, grow, create, and I get a chance to be part of it all over again.  But why must we yearn for something that we will never again achieve in lost memories? It was yesterday that I saw a picture quote that summed up best what I wish I could tell these people who yearn for the yesterdays:

Hard to Be Happy

Find a passion about today, something that you love, a work that you are passionate about, and a love that takes your breath away.  Now it is all good and well to spout these words, you say, but to actually have that is beyond me.  Why? If you have a job that makes you cringe at the start of each day, why not strive for doing something that you are proud of? Want to be a kid? Go work with them, or find a person to spend the rest of your life and start a family.  Cannot find love? Why are you looking so hard! I admit, it tends to arrive when you least expect it, want it or see it, but when it hits, bam.  Don’t let it get away, and prove that you are worth it, and so are they.  Fear the future? Why! Start planning for it! When I was in college I had to take a class centered about the book 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, by Stephen Covey, changes your mindset.  So instead of fearing, you are preparing, instead of being constantly work driven, you are reminded of the little things in life, instead of lacking a passion, it will help you find yours.  There are always answers, you just need to know where to look!

So, instead of missing those times that appeared so golden, admire what you have now! As said in one of my favorite books On the Banks of Plum Creek, by Laura Ingalls, ‘we have a house, food and a bed, we are rich’.  Be proud, and be passionate!

Leave a Reply

